Mark Twain Remembers

Mark Twain Remembers

Mark Twain Remembers

This image was captured at Mark Twain’s Boyhood Home in Hannibal Missouri.  Several of the rooms have a pure white statue of Mark Twain in them.  When I saw this room, which appears to have him looking out onto the street and at his father’s law office through the window, I had an idea of what I wanted to do with this photo when I got home.  I shot a 3 frame HDR (handheld) so as to capture detail in the foreground AND the scene outside the window, processing this through HDR Efex Pro.  I then did some finishing touches (including adding color to his skin, and further whitening and slightly blurring his hair) in Lightroom.  I thought this gave a nostalgic feel of the adult Mark Twain looking out the window… and the touch of color to his skin changed the feel of the lifeless mannequin to something a bit more personal.

Leave a Reply

