The Sparkle and the Sting

image

Haven’t really felt like breaking out my camera lately,  but with 10 minutes left on lunch I decided to venture outside.  I had an idea for an image using these yellow flowers,  but as is often the case, that’s not the picture I walked away with. While scouting  a suitable subject,  I happened on this bee.

Although taken in the harsh, full, midday sun,  I kept the background dark by using a small aperture, low iso and even a 3-stop ND filter.  This let my wireless strobe and low power camera flash do the work of illuminating the scene.

1/160th sec; F32; iso 100; Sony A6000.

Leave a Reply

